Jang Woojin is 23 years old, comes from South Korea and is currently ranked 11th in the world; he won the singles youth world championship in 2013, and has been under contract to Victas since 2018. That same year he won three Golds in the Korean Open 2018. He plays in the 1st team of TTF Liebherr Ochsenhausen and is a student at LMC – so as you see there is more than one reason for keeping Jang on your radar – we interviewed him to let you get to know him better.

We asked him about his goals and his future and why you can’t find him on Facebook or Twitter.
Read why:

The training

Jang, tell us why you love table tennis in three words.

Passion, dream job, my life

You have been to LMC before, in 2011 and 2012. Why did you come back again?

I was 15 when I came to Ochsenhausen. Back then, it was my first time in Europe and a bit of an adventure for me. I felt very much at home in Ochsenhausen and I met a lot of super people and made friends. Even in those days, it was one of my goals to one day play for TTF. That’s why I was determined to give the club and Ochsenhausen something back and I’m glad that we won the cup for Ochsenhausen.

What’s the big difference for you to training in Ochsenhausen and back home?

In South Korea we often only have one coach and also only Korean players. In Ochsenhausen we have lots of very good coaches and also many players of different nationalities. So the training group is very varied and we have lots of different game systems for training. It’s no coincidence that I train longer and more often in Ochsenhausen than in South Korea.

Something more personal

You have already been youth world champion, and were the first player to win all three titles at the 2018 Korean Open. What’s next on your list?

My next goals include the singles world championship in Budapest – I hope to win a medal there. And it will soon be the 2020 Olympics – and I’m aiming for at least one medal in the singles and with my team.

Where do you see yourself in five and 15 years’ time?

In five years I’ll be at my peak table tennis age, so I hope to be among the Top 10 players and at the very top of the world class rankings.
Phew, 15 years is a very long time (with a laugh). I hope that I’ll still be actively playing and can continue enjoy table tennis until the end of my career as a player.

„My next goals include the singles world championship in Budapest – I hope to win a medal there.

JANG WOOJIN

What do you do when you don’t happen to have a bat in your hand?

I meet up with friends and enjoy singing karaoke! Otherwise, I watch sport – mainly table tennis, of course, but also baseball and football.

Many of your colleagues use Instagram and Facebook to keep their fans up to date and communicate. Why can’t we find you in social media?

Yes, a lot do that. But at the moment it’s not important to me. I prefer to focus on my sport and use my free time to relax and unwind.

This is what VICTAS says...

What personal and sporting qualities does he have that make him a fit for your brand?

The question is rather which player could possibly be better suited to our brand and our “I am next” concept than Jang. His “incredible” Korean Open with three title wins shows what he has in him. Only very few players achieve this and it shows his winner mentality. He made it to the top of the world class in just one tournament. We also place great importance on having “good kids” in our team, so Jang is a fit all round and he think he sees it that way, too, from his side.


Jang in 3 words:

  • pleasant
  • ambitious
  • talented

Jang Woojin ist 23 Jahre alt, kommt aus Südkorea, belegt aktuell in der Weltrangliste den 11. Platz, gewann 2013 die Jugendweltmeisterschaften im Einzel, ist seit 2018 bei VICTAS unter Vertrag und hat im gleichen Jahr bei den Korean Open 2018 drei mal Gold geholt. Er spielt in der 1. Mannschaft des TTF Liebherr Ochsenhausen und ist Student am LMC – wie ihr seht, gibt es nicht nur einen Grund Jang auf dem Schirm zu haben – um ihn Euch näher vorzustellen, haben wir uns mit ihm getroffen.

Wir haben mit ihm über seine Ziele sowie über seine Zukunft gesprochen und ihn gefragt, warum er weder bei Facebook noch bei Twitter aktiv ist.
Lest selbst:

Das Training

Jang, warum liebst Du Tischtennis: in 3 Worten!

Leidenschaft, Traumberuf, Lebensinhalt

Du warst 2011 und 2012 schon mal am LMC. Warum bist Du wieder zurückgekommen?

Ich kam im Alter von 15 Jahren nach Ochsenhausen. Ich war damals das erste Mal in Europa und es war eine Art Abenteuer für mich. Ich habe mich in Ochsenhausen sehr wohl gefühlt und habe viele tolle Menschen kennengelernt und Freunde gefunden. Schon damals war es ein Ziel von mir, eines Tages bei den TTF zu spielen. Deshalb wollte ich dem Verein und Ochsenhausen unbedingt etwas zurückgeben und ich freue mich, dass wir den Pokal für Ochsenhausen gewonnen haben.

Was macht für Dich den größten Unterschied, wenn Du in Ochsenhausen bzw. in Deiner Heimat trainierst?

In Südkorea haben wir oft nur einen Trainer und auch nur koreanische Spieler. In Ochsenhausen haben wir viele sehr gute Trainer und auch viele Spieler unterschiedlicher Nationen. Die Trainingsgruppe ist daher sehr bunt und man hat sehr viele verschiedene Spielsysteme, um zu trainieren. Nicht zuletzt trainiere ich in Ochsenhausen länger und öfter als ich es in Südkorea tue.

Etwas Persönliches

Du warst schon Jugend-Weltmeister, hast als erster Spieler 2018 alle 3 Titel bei den Korean Open gewonnen. Was ist Dein nächstes Ziel?

Meine nächsten Ziele sind die Einzel-WM in Budapest – dort möchte ich um eine Medaille kämpfen. Dann kommt auch bald schon Olympia 2020 – dort möchte ich im Einzel und mit meinem Team auch mindestens eine Medaille holen.

Wo siehst Du Dich in 5 Jahren und wo in 15 Jahren?

In 5 Jahren bin ich wohl im besten Tischtennisalter, daher hoffe ich, dass ich ein Top-10-Spieler und in der absoluten Weltspitze angekommen sein werde.
Puh, 15 Jahre sind eine sehr lange Zeit (lacht). Ich hoffe, dass ich immer noch als Spieler aktiv sein kann und zum Ende meiner Spielerkarriere weiterhin Tischtennis genießen kann.

„Meine nächsten Ziele sind die Einzel-WM in Budapest – dort möchte ich um eine Medaille kämpfen.

JANG WOOJIN

Was machst Du, wenn Du keinen Schläger in der Hand hast?

Ich treffe mich mit Freunden und singe gerne Karaoke! Ansonsten schaue ich Sport – vor allem natürlich Tischtennis, aber auch Baseball und Fußball.

Viele deiner Kollegen nutzen Instagram und Facebook, um ihre Fans auf dem Laufenden zu halten und sich mitzuteilen. Warum bist Du in den sozialen Medien nicht vertreten?

Ja, viele machen das. Für mich ist das aber im Moment nicht wichtig. Ich konzentriere mich lieber voll auf meinen Sport und nutze meine Freizeit zur Erholung.

Das sagt VICTAS...

Was zeichnet ihn für Euch persönlich und spielerisch aus, sodass er zu Eurer Marke passt?

Ich frage mich da fast, welcher Spieler besser zu unserer Marke und zu unserem „I am next“ Konzept passen könnte, als Jang. Bei den „unglaublichen“ Korean Open mit seinen 3 Titeln hat man gesehen, was in ihm steckt. Dies erreichen nur ganz wenige Spieler und das spricht für seine Siegermentalität. Mit nur einem Turnier ist er in der Weltspitze angekommen. Außerdem legen wir großen Wert darauf „gute Typen“ in unserem Team zu haben, somit passt bei Jang das Gesamtpaket und ich denke er sieht das andersherum genauso.


Jang in 3 Worten:

  • angenehm
  • zielstrebig
  • talentiert